The Most Influential Commencement Speakers of 2014 According to Twitter

Commencement Speaker Infographic Featured Image

Every spring, colleges and universities across the country engage in commencement ceremonies, celebrating students’ maturation from undergrad to college graduate. Many institutions enlist some very high-profile celebrities to deliver the keynote graduation speech, some of which have strong followings on social media.

With Twitter being one of the most significant mediums for public figures to stay connected with their fans and audiences, we took a look at well-known schools and/or speakers during this commencement season and reviewed graduation lecturers by their Twitter followings (those who didn’t have Twitter were excluded from the list).

Here’s a look at 2014’s college commencement speakers by their Twitter influence.
(List was compiled between May 25, 2014, and June 4, 2014, so Twitter follower numbers may fluctuate slightly.)

Infographic: Commencement Speakers with Top Twitter Followings

1. Barack Obama (@barackobama)

Commencement College
UC Irvine

Twitter Followers
43.1 million

Sample tweet: “Retweet if you support the President’s strong action against carbon pollution. #ACTOnClimate”


2. Bill & Melinda Gates (@billgates@melindagates)

Commencement College
Stanford University

Twitter Followers
16 million, 489K

Sample tweet: “I love this developing story. Progress continues for the world’s poor.”


3. Jim Carrey (@jimcarrey)

Commencement College
Maharishi University of Management

Twitter Followers
12.5 million

Sample tweet: “Toothbrush”


4. Sean “P.Diddy” Combs (@iamdiddy)

Commencement College
Howard University

Twitter Followers
9.39 million

Sample tweet: “There’s no time like right now!”


5. John Legend (@johnlegend)

Commencement College
University of Pennsylvania

Twitter Followers
5.39 million

Sample tweet: “America succeeds when #WomenSucceed.”


6. Michelle Obama (@michelleobama)

Commencement College
Dillard University

Twitter Followers
5.38 million

Sample tweet: “We can give all our children the bright, healthy futures they so richly deserve. #letsmove”


7. Al Gore (@algore)

Commencement College
Princeton University

Twitter Followers
2.71 million

Sample tweet: “One day after EPA action, China announces it will cap carbon pollution in 2016. We can & will solve this crisis.”


8. George Stephanopoulos (@GStephanopoulos)

Commencement College
Franklin & Marshall College

Twitter Followers
1.95 million

Sample tweet: “Manhunt for San Fran man, now at end after 3 day search. Feds say they found bomb-making materials in his apt. .@PierreTABC w/ latest.”


9. Bill Clinton (@billclinton)

Commencement College
New York University (Abu Dhabi)

Twitter Followers
1.87 million

Sample tweet: “Thinking about my friend Maya Angelou makes me smile. #TBT”


10. Bill Nye (@TheScienceGuy)

Twitter Followers
1.45 million

Sample tweet: “Tonight I’ll be ‘sitting in’ with the 8G band on @LateNightSeth. This should be interesting.”

Read the full list of 2014’s Most Influential College Commencement Speakers According to Twitter.



There is 1 comment

Add yours

Comments are closed.